Skip to Site Navigation Skip to main content

Postgraduate Data Elements

The following describes in brief how OPRC creates and renews annually the major data elements used to prepare Postgraduate Medical Trainees in Ontario (PMTIO) Annual Reports.

Expandable List

All information in PMTIO reports are categorized under the medical school providing training. The six Ontario medical schools are:

  • McMaster University, Michael G. DeGroote School of Medicine
  • NOSM University
  • University of Ottawa, Ottawa Faculty of Medicine
  • Queen’s University, School of Medicine
  • University of Toronto, Temerty Faculty of Medicine
  • Western University, Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry

The programs listed in PMTIO reports are those accredited by the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada (RCPSC) and the College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC).

Additional detail is provided for Special Programs of training.

Postgraduate Year (PGY) terminology is used in all PMTIO reports. Based on an agreement between the Professional Association of Residents of Ontario (then PAIRO) and the Council of Academic Hospitals of Ontario (then OCOTH), PGY replaced Resident nomenclature at a pace of one training level each year from 1994 onward.

Trainees counted under CEB are funded by the Ministry of Health’s Clinical Education Budget. All other trainees are counted as Not CEB Funded.

Pool classification is grouped into 5 categories (A, B, C, D, E) based on location of medical license, legal status, funding group, and training level of the trainee. More detail on Pools can be found on The Pools Classification Framework.


There are three classifications for where trainees acquired their medical degree:

  • Ontario
  • Other Canadian Provinces
  • International